Nanny Qualifications


CACHE Level 3 Diploma in Childcare and Education

Edexcel Level 3 BTEC National Certificate

NVQ Level 3 in Early Years Care and Education (England, Wales and Northern Ireland)

SVQ Level 3 in Early Years Care and Education (Scotland)

LCCIEB NVQ Level 3 in Early Years Care and Education

Advanced Modern Apprenticeship in Early Years Care and Education

CACHE Level 3 Diploma in Early Years Practice

NVQ Level 3 Certificate in Work with Children APEL (Accreditation of Prior Experience and Learning)

The Chiltern College Certificate

The Princess Christian College

Council for Awards in Children’s Care and Education (CACHE)
CACHE is the officially recognised Awarding Body for Early Years, Care and Education, and Playwork. Relevant qualifications awarded by CACHE include: Certificate or Diploma in Childcare and Education (this covers working with children under eight, including those with special needs)

Level 3 Diploma in Home-based Childcare (created with the National Childminding Association, this course gives nannies the skills to develop children aged 0 to 16)


The current standard qualification is the Diploma for the Children and Young People’s Workforce (QCF level 3), offered by a large number of training providers, however experienced nannies will probably hold one of the older qualifications listed here.


An NNEB diploma in nursery nursing indicates the holder undertook a full time 2-year course covering the ages of 0-7. This is probably the most widely recognized qualification and gives student’s hands on experience in addition to the academic course which covers the physical, social, educational, intellectual and emotional needs of different ages. Other areas of study include health and hygiene, play and first aid. There is also a 1-year NNEB certificate, equivalent to a modern level 2, and an older 2-year NNEB certificate.

CACHE (The Council for Awards in Childcare and Education)

The Diploma in Childcare and Education replaced the NNEB diploma in nursery nursing, continuing the same syllabus. The Certificate in Childcare and Education is a 1-year course at level 2. CACHE also offer a wide range of other qualifications, some of which are suitable for nannies.


A BTEC National Diploma in Child Studies (Nursery Nursing) indicates the holder studied for a full time course of a higher level than the NNEB diploma. The course places more emphasis on the academic work and includes modules for those interested in teaching, nursing, social work and childcare. This BTEC diploma is a full time two-year course, and thus distinguishable from the BTEC National Certificate in Childhood Studies which is a lower level one-year part time course offered to mature candidates.


NVQ courses operate at various as a vocational alternative to A levels. They are administered by City and Guilds and deal in Childcare and related studies. NVQ Levels 2,3 & 4 can take up to two years to complete and are competence based Students are given hands on experience and subject to assessment in the workplace. These courses have replaced the old one-year City and Guilds course.


The NAMCW Certificate (National Association of Maternal and Child Welfare) is aimed at 16-18 year olds and covers children from 0-Teenagers, whilst an advanced certificate is aimed at more mature students such as Childminders who wish to study for a Professional Qualification. Another alternative from this body is a two-year diploma course.


ADCE (Advanced Diploma in Childcare and Education). This is an advanced course open only to experienced Childcarers. A Nursery Manager is likely to have this qualification.


Private Colleges offering specialist training include the Norland College, The Princess Christian College and The Chiltern Nursery Training College. Courses are 2 years and are generally followed by a probationary period of 6-9 months. A wide range of subjects are studied and students are awarded the a recognised childcare qualification (NNEB or similar) and the college's own Diploma.

NEC works with the lead bodies in childcare to develop quality distance learning materials. NEC's childcare and early years distance learning courses result in exactly the same qualifications as college courses - it is just the way of learning that is it different as you can study from home without the need to attend classes, whilst at the same time having expert tutor support. NEC helps workers gain essential qualifications in areas such as childminding, Pre-School Practice, Children’s Care, Learning and Development, Family Learning, Professional Development and Nutrition Awareness.

NEC's childcare and early years resource packs can be used to support training in a wide range of vocational qualifications. They can be used for face-to-face training, open learning or to support private self-study with anyone working with children and young people in a nursery, playgroup, pre-school or out-of-school club, or anyone working as a childminder or foster carer.


Other Qualifications include the Pre-School Play-Group Diploma and The Montessori Childcare and Teaching Diploma. The Montessori Diploma is a privately run course which is taken either full time or by correspondence and covers children aged 2-7. The course promotes the philosophy of Maria Montessori who believes in Children’s ability to teach themselves within a structured learning environment.

For more information check the BAPN Guide to Childcare Qualifications for Nannies.


Registered Office Address

Home Star Childcare Limited
3rd Floor, 207 Regent Street
United Kingdom

Open 7am to 9pm Monday to Sunday

T: 0798 523 6663


Copyright 2019 - Home Star Childcare